My 2023 Back to School activities in Romania

Before retiring at the beginning of 2024 I wanted to visit three more schools in Romania, my home country, to close the series of the “Back to School” events, which I carried out for the past 14 years as an EU official.

As a former teacher I loved taking part in these events, perhaps I wanted to enjoy for one or two hours those particular and privileged moments when a teacher speaks to pupils in front of a classroom.

Back to School Programme: Background information

The Back to School programme was adopted by the European Commission in 2006, following a successful initiative launched by European Schoolnet, a former organisation I worked for about ten years.

In 2002, European Schoolnet started to encourage key public figures – such as European Commissioners, state presidents, prime ministers, members of the European and national parliaments, writers, singers, composers etc. – to visit schools and engage in a dialogue with students of all ages, to listen to their views on what matters most to them.

As the initiative become popular, many national and European institutions adopted the exchange model and encouraged their staff to take part in the “Back to School” activity.

The European Commission adopted the initiative and encouraged its own staff to get involved while spending their holidays in their home countries.

Preparing the Back to School event

I was in touch with the hosting teachers to find out more about the age of my audience to be able to tailor my content properly and make sure my message is well understood.

Pupils in Vintileasca, Vrancea, Romania, listening to my presentation.
Pupils in Vintileasca, Vrancea, Romania, listening to my presentation (Photo: Prof. Stana Georgescu)

I arranged with several colleagues in European institutions to ship a number of EU publications to teachers. The publications were available in Romanian and, according to the hosting teachers, they were useful as supporting materials while teaching about the EU.

A special “Thank you” goes to my colleagues in the Commission, the Commission Representation in Bucharest, Publication Office and the Council of the European Union, for providing a good selection of publications and other information materials that were shipped on time to Romania, directly to the hosting teachers. It is also worth mentioning that all participating pupils got their own copies. There were also some extra copies donated to the schools’ libraries to be consulted by other pupils who did not attend.

This year I visited the following schools:

Școala Gimnazială Nr. 2 Bordeasca Veche, Vrancea in Romania
Școala Vintileasca, Vrancea in Romania
Școala Gimnazială Anghel Saligny, Focșani, in Romania

Content presentation

I prepared three Power Point presentations whose content was supposed to fit into 60-90 minutes, including interaction with pupils and their teachers.

I invited both pupils and teachers to interrupt me at any time while presenting, so that they can pose any questions and make any comments. I tried to encourage some interactivity based on questions, answers and the content on the screen.

This approach helped pupils be a bit more confident and review and consolidate their knowledge on the EU policies and the latest EU developments.

1. EU in a nutshell
EU history, Europe vs. the EU, What does the EU do? EU institutions, EU policies and their impact on our own day-to-day life. (Romanian)

2. What Europe does for me?
How does Europe affect our everyday lives? How does it impact our jobs, our families, our health care, our hobbies, our journeys, our security, our consumer choices, and our social rights? And how is Europe present in our towns, cities, and regions? (Romanian)

3. A 20-question quiz on EU
A set of questions to help pupils consolidate knowledge they got via the two previous PPT presentations. Small presents were given to the pupils as prizes for the right answers to the questions. (Romanian)

Closing the event

I invited pupils to take part in a dialogue and ask me any questions they may have, either on the EU or on my professional life.

It was interesting to listen to their own concerns and ideas. I was also delighted to note that the EU is well seen from the grassroots level. Pupils were aware of the EU efforts to improve the lives of all Europeans.

Previous Back to School events

2018 EU Back to School visits

2017 EU Back to School visits

Opening a window to Europe – Visiting my former school in Tătăranu, the Romanian village where I grew up.

A key step to treasuring cultural differences & similarities – Visiting the Duiliu Zamfirescu School, Focșani, where I worked as a primary teacher for about 18 years.

Steps to becoming Europeans – Visiting the  Edmond Nicolau Technical College, Focșani.

A heartfelt dialogue with future primary school teachers  – Visiting the Pedagogical High School “Spiru Haret”, Focșani.

EU invests not only in infrastructure, but also in people – Visiting the School No. 3, Focșani.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment